Fashion-Friendly Friday

Aside from writing, fashion is the best form of self-expression. They’re similar in that they’re both flexible. One day, you can write about relationship advice and then the next you can write about your love for dogs. You can change your voice through writing.

Through fashion, you can change your entire image. One day, you can be edgy and the next you can dress straight out of a J. Crew Magazine. That’s always been my favorite part of fashion – it’s exciting, unexpected and mysterious. No one will ever truly know what my real “image” is if I have the ability to change it every day.

It also allows me to stay close to home. Going to school eight hours away can get pretty lonely, but as soon as I open my closet I’m reminded of home. I see the sweater I stole from my sister’s closet in high school after she’d already left for the morning. I see the Vineyard Vines pink and blue dress shirt my mom sent me for Easter last year. I see the dress I wore to my high school graduation. I see memories hanging in my closet, not just things.

So every Friday, starting today, I’m going to post an outfit I wore during the week. The purpose isn’t to flaunt my clothes or show you how fashionable I can be. The purpose is to share a memory and combine my two favorite forms of expression.

When I see this fur vest, I think of one of my last days home during this past summer break. It was about 90 degrees outside and almost as hot inside of Marshalls. My mom found this vest and insisted I try it on with the long sleeved shirt underneath it and a pair of too small ripped jeans [not the ones pictured] that she randomly grabbed off a rack. Naturally, I fell in love with it and had to buy it. I also had to buy a water bottle right after because just trying it on made me sweat.

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 4.41.00 PM

When I see these earrings, I think of honking taxi horns and the rain. I bought them in a jewelry store on my way to work in New York City this summer. The earrings were my first purchase in New York City and I wore them every day for a week.

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 4.40.39 PM

When I see these jeans, I think of my younger sister trying on the same pair in the dressing room next to me and coming out laughing because they were way too big on her. We have a very similar fashion sense, so we always end up trying on and buying similar clothes.

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 4.40.51 PM

I channeled my inner New York City resident when I wore this outfit. I’m sure I stuck out like a sore thumb at my small-town college in the middle of Western New York, but somedays my only intention for my image is to stand out. I’m never afraid to stand out, whether through writing or fashion.

Leave a Reply

