In Defense of the Girl Who is Always on Her Cell Phone

My cell phone is glued to my hand every day, all day.

Ok, not really glued, but it’s definitely there for a majority of my day. The only time I ever really put it down is to take notes, but even when I take notes it’s typically on my laptop which is basically just a bigger version of my cell phone anyway.

I know the stereotypes of this generation – that we’re all on our “electronic devices” (a term my mother loves to overuse) too much. That we’ll get carpel tunnel from the amount of time our fingers stay curled over a keyboard. That we’ll start to lose our eyesight from staring at a screen. That the radiation from our computers sitting on our laps will cause ovarian cancer.

Yeah, all that crazy stuff.

But have you ever asked why we’re on our “electronic devices” so much? Sure, we’re caught at least once per day taking the occasional selfie on Snapchat. Yes, we’re all guilty of endlessly scrolling through Twitter out of boredom. And yes, I admit to pretending to text someone just to avoid awkward eye contact with that kid I kind of know from my history or my English class.

But mostly? I’m checking my email to respond to my writers. I’m making sure that my staffers sent me their stories before noon or five for the newscast. I’m researching internships because walking to class is my only free time some days. I’m texting my sister who is fighting with her boyfriend. I’m keeping tabs on my mom who’s home sick from work. I’m making sure my roommate remembers that we have an online quiz due by 2 p.m.

Cell phones are as much of a solution for our generation as they are a problem. No, not everyone uses their phones to be productive. Yes, some days our phones have no use other than killing time playing candy crush. But they’re our planner, camera, calculator, notepad, emergency contact, map, music and knowledge database. They are the source of all the information we could possibly ever need to know.

So when you see me walking to class typing away, or when I don’t look up in the middle of a conversation, or when you see my phone in my lap during class, don’t just categorize me with other “basic” teenage girls that can’t live without texting their friends or boyfriends every second of every day.

Cell phones only create problems if you let them. Check for internships more than you check Instagram.

2 thoughts on “In Defense of the Girl Who is Always on Her Cell Phone

  1. Dr. Denny Wilkins says:

    Excellent. I may have to rethink my usual reaction to the “girl who is always on her cell phone.”

    Fifty years ago, we did just what you do on the phone. We worried about all you mentioned. But it took us far longer to deal with it … because we had no cell phones. So I wonder: What does that “girl who is always on her cell phone” do with the time saved?

    Like

Leave a Reply

