I Don’t Want to Face My Fears, And That’s OK.

Ever since I was little, I was told that the best way to alleviate your fears is to face them.

After taking two international flights, scaling a cliff on horseback and taking an elevator to the top of the Eiffel Tower, I can confirm that that advice is bullshit.

Fear is natural. It’s what keeps us from asking someone on a date, or what keeps us from jumping out of a plane. It dictates our lives and I think that’s ok.

I see nothing wrong with living in the United States for the rest of my life because I don’t want to fly. I don’t feel the need to take the elevator instead of stairs just to face my fears. I don’t ever want to scale a cliff again to face my fear of heights.

As long as it does not restrict what I want out of life, why should I be forced to fix it?

I welcome fear. I don’t want to die before I’ve accomplished everything out of life. I want to live to see myself graduate law school. I want to come home to a 150 pound golden doodle jumping on my chest. I want to explore New York City so much that I don’t need to stare at google maps trying to get from Central Park to the Met.

I want to do things that I enjoy in life, things that don’t scare me. If I can’t ever visit France again because I don’t want to get on an airplane, then so be it. If I don’t want to jump out of an airplane, then why stress myself out over conquering my fear of heights?

Why make life anymore complicated than it already is?

I don’t take risks. I live comfortably. I take the stairs and I drive 8 hours to school. I am okay with living this way, and there is no need for me to change.

My life is not worse because I cannot face my fears, or because i’m being “deprived” of experiences that I could have if I weren’t afraid.

My life is better because I don’t do things that make me scared.

Besides, at least climbing to the 10th floor of a hotel will keep me healthy.

One thought on “I Don’t Want to Face My Fears, And That’s OK.

Leave a Reply

